Connect with us


PDP Senators return to chamber after Wednesday walk-out




Aggrieved Senators elected under the platform of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) who staged a walk-out on Wednesday returned to plenary on Thursday.
There was a row on Wednesday following defection of the Senator representing Ondo South, Yele Omogunwa from the PDP to the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).
For about five minutes, the Senators led by Minority Leader, Senator Godswill Akpabio did not enter the chamber after Senate President, Dr Bukola Saraki’s process was already in the Red Chamber.
Though, Deputy Senate President, Ike Ekweremadu, also a PDP Senator, joined Saraki’s process, others were nowhere to be found in the chamber, raising the concern that the aggrieved Senators might boycott today’s plenary again.
The Senators had on Wednesday staged a walk-out over Omogunwa’s defection from PDP to APC.
Akpabio who raised Point Of Order to challenge the Ondo Senator’s defection after his letter was read, was ruled out of order by Saraki, hence, the protest.


Copyright © 2018 9JAOLOFOFO.COM.NG